“Krebs Tavern” (now apartments) was a landmark and still stands at the intersection of Big Road and New Hanover Square Road. It was a tavern from before 1742 until about 1920.


Board of Supervisors

New Hanover Township is classified as a township of the second class and is governed by the Board of Supervisors, which is comprised of five members, who are elected at large and serve six-year staggered terms. The Board is empowered with legislative functions which include enacting ordinances and resolutions, adopting a budget, levying taxes, providing for appropriations, awarding bids and contracts, and making appointments to various advisory boards and commissions.

Charles Garner, Chairman
Term: January 1, 2016 - December 31, 2021

Kurt Zebrowski, Vice Chairman
Term: January 1, 2018 - December 31, 2019

Marie Livelsberger, Member
Term: January 1, 2018 - December 31, 2023

Phil Agliano, Member
Term: January 1, 2014 - December 31, 2019

William Ross Snook, Member
Term: January 1, 2018 - December 31, 2023